Santa Monica Pier

I’ve been to Santa Monica Pier so many times that I’ve lost count. On May 23, I took my old friend Ulises, my sister Nadia, my friend Lucas and the boyfriend to Santa Monica. We got there pretty late, so it was dark outside. We parked at the 3rd Street Promenade, which is an outdoor mall with plenty of parking spaces. The first 90 minutes that you park there are free, and throughout the price increases about a dollar an hour.

We walked to the Pier, which was a couple of blocks away. There’s a new sign that has been put up since the last time I had been there; it’s a sign that says that it’s part of Route 66. Of course, I had David take a photo of me (and Ulises & Nadia) in front of it.

Route 66

Route 66

There’s an abundance to do at the Pier, between vendors set up to make a cartoon drawing of you to buying a grain of sand with your name on it, so many food options, a small amusement park, and of course the view!

Sunset

Sunset

photo 2 (1)

Weird fencing on the pier (I think its construction)

The restaurants on the pier are all different. There’s the famous Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., Marisol Cocina Mexicana at the end of the pier with a nice view, the PAC Park Food Court, and Pier Burger (where we ate), among others.

Pier Burger was really good! I had just a normal cheeseburger, but there are plenty of other options including fish burgers. There was seating available both indoors and outdoors. I almost got ice cream from there after dinner, but, the burger filled me up enough to not want more.

The Pacific Park is a fun place to bring kids, or kids at heart. There’s a lot of rides including a roller coaster and a Ferris wheel! Get more info here.

Ferris Wheel from behind

Ferris Wheel from behind

There’s a bunch more stuff to do: swim, trapeze school, a small aquarium, a shop dedicated to Route 66, and more!

We ended up walking back to 3rd Street Promenade, even though most of the stores were closed, just to walk around. Honestly, you can find anything to do here. I was a little bummed that the outdoor mall closed so early, but the Pier is usually open past midnight.

There’s another off my Summer 2014 Bucket List! (:

Leave a Reply

