626 Night Market

On my way to work on Friday (July 18), I was listening to Ryan Seacrest on Kiis Fm; he was talking about all the things to do in LA this weekend, and he mentioned the 626 Night Market (which I went to briefly last year), so I googled it to make sure it was still in the same place, and it was! Yay! The 626 Night Market is kind of like a street fair, but bigger, and kind of like a county fair, without the big rides; it’s Asian themed, so most of everything sold is Asian.

photo 1

My best friend Andi, David and I ended up going to it that night. I love the Santa Anita Race Track, its so spacious so you don’t feel suffocated with all the people around you.  We arrived a little past 6, parking was easy and FREE!  You walk right up to the gates and the entrance fee is $3 (cheaper than last year). They had quirky little signs everywhere like this one:

Hahaha

Hahaha

Andi and I @ the huge 626 sign

Andi and I @ the huge 626 sign

Nom

Nom. Just in case you need to get around. Download this app.

We decided we first wanted to walk around so we could find out what we wanted to eat and not get stuffed. We ended up finding some really cool food trucks, although I was disappointing that Kogi wasn’t there! BOO!

The People

The People

We ended up deciding to eat from two trucks because they both seemed really yummy. From the Grilled-Cheese Truck,

 

 

 

 

The Grilled-Cheese Truck

The Grilled-Cheese Truck

David and I both ordered an easy Mac & Rib (macaroni & cheese & BBQ pork), he also ordered  a side of tater-tots! I shared mine with Andi because we found another truck that we wanted to try, Rice Balls of Fire,

 

 

 

Rice Balls of Fire

Rice Balls of Fire

where we ordered 3 Korean Tacos ( Spicy Pork, “Bulgogi” Rib-eye Steak, & Pork Belly). They were all pretty good, although the spicy pork was my favorite.

 

 

 

David's Sandwich

David’s Sandwich

Tacos!

Tacos!

 

 

We sat around to eat and then realized that we didn’t get anything to drink! Everyone was walking around drinking from Mason Jars, and they looked like really cool fancy drinks so we went on a hunt for them.

 

It took us a while to find the place, Simpag Asia Indonesian Cafe, and turns out that everyone was drinking virgin cocktails!

Our Drinks!

Our Drinks!

They were sooooooo good. I had a Pineapple Mojito, Andi had a Singapore Sling and David had a Watermelon Lemonade… they were so yum!

Mine!

Mine!

photo 2 (1)

We walked around and saw some really cool artists and start up companies like Bad Art Inc., Sean Boyce Studios and Gravity LA.

Fluff Ice

Fluff Ice

We found another food truck that was specifically for shaved ice called Fluff Ice. I ordered a fusion green tea fluff with red bean & mochi with condensed milk. I really like it but I do not like red beans though, everything else was really good.

Green Tea Fluff

Green Tea Fluff

By this time (9 pm), it started getting crowded with teenagers and young adults, so we decided to leave. Overall, this was a really fun event to go to. There’s tons to do and I had a lot of fun.

Ps. You can go August 15 & 16 & September 12 & 13!!!

Leave a Reply

