Birchbox vs. Ipsy July 2014

Birchbox and Ipsy are makeup subscriptions. They’re each $10 a month. You take a quiz on both sites to see how each service matches you up with their makeup/ skincare brands. Basically each month they send you about 5 different products. I’ve tried Birchbox for 7 months now, at first I was really excited about it, but lately, it’s been kind of disappointing. On the other hand, I’ve tried Ipsy for only two months and both bags have been amazing. photo 2 (8)

This month, for Birchbox, I recieved:

  1. Cynthia Rowley Beauty Eyeliner
  2. Number 4™ Super Comb Prep & Protect
  3. SmartyPants All-in-One Gummy Vitamins for Adults
  4. COOLA Environmental Repair Plus® Radical Recovery™ After-Sun Lotion
  5. Marcelle New·Age 8 in 1 Power Serum

Out of the 5 things, 4 were samples and the eyeliner wasn’t all that big either; which is fine, but I would like to be able to use a product for more than like a week, you know? So the eyeliner goes on really nicely, I like it, but I have a million eyeliners now. I think this is the 3rd or 4th they’ve sent me in 7 months. The leave in conditioner was okay, but I’ve had the same results from cheaper products. The gummies tasted really yucky, that’s all I’m saying… The after-sun lotion was amazing! I used it after showering right after a whole day at Disneyland and it felt AMAZING! The Marcelle serum was disappointing. I tried it, but really? Why do I need this. I’m 23. my skin is fine.  LAME. photo 3 (10)

For Ipsy I got: 

  1. bareMinerals: 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15
  2. Hang Ten Dark Tanning Oil SPF 08
  3. Pixi Beauty Mini Tinted Brilliance Balm
  4. POP Beauty Sunkissed Bronzer
  5. Sexy Hair Soy Renewal Beach Spray Conditioning & Texturizing Spray

So, out of 5 things, 3 were sample size and 2 were full size products. I’m really excited about the eyeshadow, it feels amazing! I don’t wear eyeshadow much so this was a great size to get, if I ever were to want more I would definitely buy this product. I haven’t really had a change to use the tanning oil, but it smells great. The lip balm/ lipstick is seriously my favorite thing about this box!!! It’s a great color, first of all; second, it feels like you’re wearing chapstick. It lasts a really long time, I only reapply twice in a night, and that’s just because I like when lip color stays the same all day. I’m going to buy a full size once this one runs out. The bronzer is awesome! I’m excited to use this more often, since I currently have a bronzer I haven’t used this one as much, but I don’t know which is my favorite. The texturing spray was okay, I don’t usually use a lot of product in my hair, and it made it look like it was just naturally dried, not much different from my regular hair. I LOOOOOVEEEE the bag it came in, BRIGHT PINK! So exciting.(:  

Overall, I use the ipsy products a lot more than I use the Birchbox products. I love my Ipsy bag, rating 9/10. My Birchbox was okay, rating 4/10. 

To get Birchbox, sign up here! https://www.birchbox.com/invite/fsndc

To get Ipsy, sign up here! http://www.ipsy.com/r/9jns

One thought on “Birchbox vs. Ipsy July 2014

  1. You post interesting content here. Your page deserves much bigger audience.
    It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know useful tool that
    can help you, simply type in google: svetsern traffic tips

    Like

Leave a Reply

